Humble beginnings…

This is a simple, and somewhat personal attempt for me to add a new level to my enjoyment of Dwarf Fortress, and immerse myself in all the wonderfully rich tales, both exciting and mundane, that this wonderful game provides.  After finishing my first fortress I looked down on the elaborate anthill I had created, every surface lovingly crafted by my thrifty dwarves over hundreds of game years. While it was a wonder to behold, it was the journey of the seven lonely dwarves from peasant settlers, into the nobles of a great civilization that held the real enjoyment of the game for me, and I found myself wishing that some record existed, for me to remember fondly.  I will try to construct a personal history for each of my seven settlers, using a  mixture of creative writing, and details provided by the game, then follow them through the years as they mature and hopefully, take prominent positions in their society.

ooo

I will be using DF2010 Mayday and Lemunde for my fortress, and DwarfTherapist to keep track of my Dwarves. As I have yet to find one that is updated to run with this new version of DF, the 3D visualizers will have to wait till later. The world I am using has been randomly generated and I will not be using a custom map location, but instead picking one at random to add flavor. (unless it means my party lands in the middle of the sea, or an active volcano!) The Dwarves I will be directing are all randomly generated using the MINERS format in the party selection screen.  Strike the earth!

Leave a comment